[Login] or [Signup]
Login
Username:
Password:
[Signup]
[Recover Account]


Poll


You must be logged in to view polls



Technical Help > Transfering files

You are in:  Forums / Technical Help / Transfering files
Locked
badvokPosted at 2016-01-12 23:56:13(424 wks ago) (Technical Help / Transfering files)


Uploaded: ---
Downloaded: ---
Posts: 64

Ratio: ---
Location: United Kingdom


Was wondering what's the best way to transfer 7gig worth of files in one go?

wetransfer (free version) only does 2gig and is a very slow upload speed at my end.

Any suggestions would be great

Thanks

Report This Post Go to the top of the page
 
toneblokePosted at 2016-01-13 06:19:12(424 wks ago) (Technical Help / Transfering files)
Remember me !


Uploaded: 1.86 TB
Downloaded: 974.66 GB
Posts: 563

Ratio: 1.96
Location: Australia


I like and use Wetransfer so Id break the 7GB into 4 parts.

Alternative is a private torrent.



"Look up here, I’m in heaven
I’ve got scars that can’t be seen"
Report This Post Go to the top of the page
 
neilwilkesPosted at 2016-02-02 09:18:22(421 wks ago) (Technical Help / Transfering files)


Uploaded: 761.75 GB
Downloaded: 623.09 GB
Posts: 708

Ratio: 1.22
Location: United Kingdom


Another really useful method is to make a WinRAR archive in split parts.
Whilst WinRAR is theoretically evaluation software all that happens when your "trial" runs out is that a nag screen appears but functionality is totally unimpaired.
To do this, install winRAR (it is free) and when you create an archive, tell it to split the archive into parts. You can set the size of each part from a drop-down selector or write your own value in manually. The resulting archive will be a multi-oart RAR archive that will automatically extract back into the original with no hassle at all.

The easiest way to set this up is when you install, make sure you tick the boxes for right-click context menus, so when you then right-click on any file or folder you will see an option for winRAR, and choose the option "add to archive". The box for splitting is on the bottom left side and you set the part size (in MB by default) from there.

Please drop me a message if you need more help

Report This Post Go to the top of the page
 

<< Prev  1   Next >>

Locked
You are not permitted to post in this forum.

Latest Forum Posts



Modified by JanErik |- Page Generated In 0.057672 secs.
-|- RSS Feed -|- Feed Info
Theme Base By: Nikkbu | Modified by: paperdragon | Graphics by: MossGarden
Email: bowiestation(AT)bowiestation.com